Poets logo

White Light

I consist of all who came before and live today

By Brenda MahlerPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
White Light
Photo by Gradienta on Unsplash

The center of my soul is a white light

Radiating energy

Enfolding my essence

The opposite of a black hole

For black is the absence of color

A hallow pit

Sucking dreams and swallowing them whole

While light illuminates my path

Toward home’s security and

Peaceful repose yet unidentified

My soul holds pieces of everyone

Who touched my heart

Added colors

Of life and loss

Red strokes of passion

Grand as the sunrise that forever

Reflects the love in my husband’s eyes

Small as my grandchild’s newborn hand

Caressed in my palm when she cries

As pure as a lotus rooted in mud

Emerging from water, reaching for skies

Crimson beads of blood flood my memories

Of loved ones lost

Persistent red ants nibbling at my emotions

Reminders of those out of reach

But never gone

Triggering warm full-body goosebumps

Tickling thoughts of my past

Unveiling smooth sapphire reflections

Allow me to seek the eyes of the shadows

Who lifted me up to touch rainbows

While chasing the blue hues of hope

Guided by the ubiquitous sun

White light, a mixture of all the colors

Of my life’s experiences

Combining

All shades,

Hues

Illustrating

All emotions

Experiences

Shining as a white light

Calling me home

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Brenda Mahler

Travel

Writing Lessons

Memoirs

Poetry

Books AVAILABLE ON AMAZON.

* Lockers Speak: Voices from America's Youth

* Understanding the Power Not Yet shares Kari’s story following a stroke at 33.

* Live a Satisfying Life By Doing it Doggy Style explains how humans can life to the fullest.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.