Poets logo

Light Heart in a world of Gray Embers

A poem of hope in a world full of war

By Shelby R PerezPublished 17 days ago 1 min read
1

The light heart glides, though not so free

Amidst color, music and sweetness,

Against monochrome, silence and bitter truths

The taste of charcoal chokes me, and I recall reality.

Just as beautifuly plumed birds decorate the streets

Now the dull pastel scorch my eyes, like ash

Not of the Phoenix, but if Surt’s hate.

slam poetry
1

About the Creator

Shelby R Perez

I am a college student and lover/writer of fiction and poetry, especially Fairytails and mythology. I am working to become a published author, using my love for myths and legends to reintroduce gods, spirits, demons and heroes.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran16 days ago

    That was extremely powerful! Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.