Poets logo

Whispers

Stream of Consciousness

By Kristen BalyeatPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
12
Whispers
Photo by Josh Gordon on Unsplash

*The song is longer than the poem, so feel free to listen a moment before you continue on.

...

my whisper

s w i r l e d

into the night

through the

Trees it

b l e w–

it caught a

current riding

h i g h

up to the

Stars it

f l e w

...

i knew it

reached its

d e s t i n y

the Star

gave me a

w i n k–

it listened

most

i n t e n t l y

as its

bright light

burned and

b l i n k e d

...

i didn't ask

for riches

a c c o l a d e s

or fortunes

wealth can

b u y–

my wish

was full of

q u e s t i o n s

in search

of reasons

w h y

...

it gently

whispered back

t o

m e

in a kind

and loving

w a y–

I cant

offer

you

r e s o l u t i o n s

you’re

looking

the wrong

w a y

...

you’re hoping

to find

m e a n i n g

whispering

queries

in the

W i n d–

be quiet

still and

l i s t e n

the answers

you seek

are deep

w i t h i n

...

transfusion

of my

pen

i

b l e d

hopeful inking

would

a s s u a g e–

i wrote

the mirror

of my

s o u l

answers

spilling

on the

p a g e

...

my whisper

s w i r l e d

into the

n i g h t

and to

the Star

it

f l e w–

thank you

for your

w i s d o m

you're right…

A l l

A l o n g

I

K n e w

nature poetryinspirational
12

About the Creator

Kristen Balyeat

Words fly to me on the wind, bump into me as I'm strolling the city, splash me in the face while I rest by the river, and shake me awake in the middle of the night– I’m humbly one of the many vessels they use to come to life.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Candace about a year ago

    LOVE,, this was captivating!!!

  • Testabout a year ago

    Wow, Kristen!!! What a beautiful, elegant and soul-soothing poem. I absolutely love it!

  • Regan Saulsburyabout a year ago

    LOVE!

  • Jazmin Fernandezabout a year ago

    Beautiful dear

  • This may be my favorite of all the poems I've ever read of yours. Heck, it may be one of my favorites period. You got to me in all the best of ways with this one. Thank you for writing & sharing this.

  • Mohammed Darasiabout a year ago

    Beautiful poem as always 😁.. and I love the message behind the words.. to be more introspective (sometimes poems can be subjective to the reader, but this is that I got from it 😅). We're always searching for answers out there (our purpose etc) when we can sometimes find them within.

  • Darla M Seelyabout a year ago

    So beautiful, Kristin!

  • Quincy.Vabout a year ago

    a thoughtful and inspiring piece of writing.

  • Great piece ❤️😉

  • ARCabout a year ago

    Y E S 💙🌟

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.