Poets logo

While You Lay Dreaming

You’ve Have Taken My Soul

By PG BarnettPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo by Gregory Pappas on Unsplash

While you lay dreaming

You have somehow managed to take my soul

And that’s okay because I always longed to give it to you

So when you gladly received it I breathed in a tortured sigh of relief

Hoping you would be willing to share my burdens of pain

And you were

And you did

And you do.

While you sat crying

My heart ached in my chest

And I cursed those things which had hurt you

Wishing that you would give those anguishes to me

Those terrifying feelings of helplessness

Give them to me dear so I might take your pain away

I can help

I’ll always stay

By your side.

While you were laughing

I loved to laugh with you

The joy of watching your face brighten filling my heart

The sounds of when you giggle at something I wrote or said

Filling the house with tinkling sounds of mirth

All my life

I will cherish

Those fond memories.

While we live out our days

Together we will continue to tackle this world

Our bond as strong as tempered steel our love for each other eternal

Even though some say there’s no such thing as soulmates

We will show proof that they are wrong

We are here

We are strong

We are one.

And should you lay dying

I will continue to hold your hand

And gently kiss your lips

Stroke the pain from your lovely face

Knowing that my soul you took from me so many years ago

You may wish to free at the end of our days together

Understanding you will try to return it to me and tell me to live without you

But it’s never been mine to take has it dear

It is yours and has always been yours because I am and will always be yours

I will go

Where you go

I am yours

Let’s keep in touch: [email protected]

© P.G. Barnett, 2020. All Rights Reserved.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

PG Barnett

A published author living in Texas married bliss. Lover of dogs living with two cats. Writer of Henry James Series and all things weird and zany in this world of ours.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.