Poets logo

Where it starts…

A Poetic Career

By Kendall Defoe Published 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 1 min read
14
Where it starts…
Photo by Ksenia Makagonova on Unsplash

Bounced out on my mother’s knee

Borrowed from libraries (always free)

Heard in hip-hop (rap from new schools)

My first vocal efforts (using raw tools)

Self-published and over-read

Out to the public…something to be said

Shared online…shared with you

My love lies here…in entry number two

And what do I want to say?

*

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Kendall Defoe on my Vocal profile. I complain, argue, provoke and create...just like everybody else.

Give it a look...

love poemssocial commentaryperformance poetrylistinspirationalfact or fiction
14

About the Creator

Kendall Defoe

Teacher, reader, writer, dreamer... I am a college instructor who cannot stop letting his thoughts end up on the page.

And I did this: Buy Me A Coffee... And I did this:

Blogger

Squawk Back

Quora

Reedsy

Instagram

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • ThatWriterWoman9 months ago

    'Self published and over-read' is a fantastic line! Well Done on this one Kendall!

  • Jay Kantor10 months ago

    'Sup Kendall ~ Ah you speak through your 'Alter-Ego' who doesn't ~ Odd how we seem to often topic-choose the same/with our different slants - I'm sorry that you haven't peeked at any of mine - no biggie as mentioned I don't join contests/or count points - just fun for me. Although, I'm frustrated that I've just tried to squeeze my old-self into U'z Youngins 'History' category - Could-Maybe be a Bad-Fit - Always look forward to your topic-jumping 'Schtick - you get more from what you don't say than what you do - - Domo Arigato - J-Bud

  • I loved this! Also, I followed you on Instagram!

  • Dana Stewart10 months ago

    Very good!

  • Nicely done, Kendall.

  • Real Poetic10 months ago

    Beautiful!

  • Rob Angeli10 months ago

    Great work!

  • Ashley Lima10 months ago

    Love this!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.