Poets logo

Where did my voice go?

Please give it back to me

By Ali SPPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
25
Where did my voice go?
Photo by Dan Farrell on Unsplash

Days have turned into a week and still

Nothing but gurgles, cracks and croaks ,

A struggle to force air out of a narrow path

Or create any vibrations in my throat

*

A dark angel came in and stole my voice

That’s the only explanation that I have,

I am being punished for pretending for so long

That I didn’t have one inside

*

It’s true, I tried to strangle it

Afraid of what others may think ,

But recently I took command of it

And fell in love with the parts that make it unique

*

It’s small and silvery nature

Which make it light and pleasant ,

Made me realize there’s nothing wrong

with me embracing that quiet storm

*

I allowed the words to leave my mouth

For the wind to carry it away,

To allow the musical notes of my throat

To be shared in every single way

*

Then something changed that morning

And still remains the same ,

My tongue is just as heavy

as it was that day

*

I know that I am guilty

I kept it to myself ,

the punishment I don’t deserve

and now I plead for help

*

Please return my voice to me

This time I promise to let it out,

I have learned my lesson

Fear has permanently stepped out.

sad poetry
25

About the Creator

Ali SP

Ali has found a renewed passion for reading and creating. It is now a form of expression for her– another creative outlet which she works to improve upon.

https://www.instagram.com/art.ismyrefuge/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.