Poets logo

When You Taste Love Before it is Yours

Pure Indulgence

By Teresa RentonPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
4
When You Taste Love Before it is Yours
Photo by Allef Vinicius on Unsplash

I saw it behind glass, that first time,

in a display cabinet, coveted by many mouths,

alluring in all its fluffy mousse-like glory.

Light specks contoured the glassy surface,

reflecting imagined stars

while a background hum of activity dispersed

like powdered sugar through a sieve.

It caught me but I needed no restraining. It shot me

with seduction. But it had me with its presence.

*

I tasted you before you were mine,

that sweet, sweet taste of toffee cloud

melting on a submissive tongue,

more delicious for the bitter sips of coffee between

each mouthful of that rich frisson

a collision that forms only in

a perfect union.

*

Crystal silence crackled like a brulee

broken only by your lips curling

when you guessed I tasted your kiss

before you were mine.

When you said hello, I wondered

What is this new and beautiful word?

love poems
4

About the Creator

Teresa Renton

Inhaling life, exhaling stories, poetry, prose, flash or fusions. An imperfect perfectionist who writes and recycles words. I write because I love how it feels to make ink patterns & form words, like pictures, on a page.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.