Poets logo

End of Year Feedback for my Husband

A whimsical letter at the end of 2021

By Teresa RentonPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
3
Courtesy of Teresa Renton (author)

Dear Husband,

Please, will you not leave the dishcloth in a wet lump, in a sloppy heap in the sink? 

All manner of spills get flung in the sink: 

tea dregs, 

leftover soup, 

rinse water after it has slid down a dirty plate.

Then I come to use it. I stare with disgust, disappointment, 

and not an insignificant measure of resentment 

at the sloppy offering at the bottom of the sink. I swear 

it looks at me with a forlorn expression and shrugs its soggy shoulders.

'Why are you not rinsed clean and wrung out, waiting 

as you hang on the edge of the bowl? Isn't that where I left you?' 

I ask my cloth. 

Its reticence saddens me.

So you see, dear husband, whom I love dearly, 

this is a woeful story of neglect, thoughtlessness, and lack 

of hygiene. 

You are better than that. 

So please, 

please just rinse the fucking dishcloth 

and hang it to air.

With love

Your devoted wife xxx

inspirational
3

About the Creator

Teresa Renton

Inhaling life, exhaling stories, poetry, prose, flash or fusions. An imperfect perfectionist who writes and recycles words. I write because I love how it feels to make ink patterns & form words, like pictures, on a page.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.