Poets logo

When Wood Weeps

A Story of Lost Love

By Patrick M. OhanaPublished 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 1 min read
2
Photo (CC0) from Libreshot

When I was a human minor

I fell in love with a tall tree

It was the only tree around

On the small cabin-like subplot

I would hug it good morning tree

Before I finally named it

Jupiter like the big planet

I loved Jupiter with my heart

However little it still was

My parents were often perplexed

Why would little M love a tree

But I did yes love Jupiter

Not at all the gassy planet

When I grew up towards the sky

I climbed on Jupiter and laughed

Feeling that it could now hold me

As I hugged all the big branches

I kissed some of the leaves hello

And goodbye when we left for good

I never knew of any wood

I am sure that it weeps with me

Every time a tree is cut down

and killed ...

-----

I actually wept when I typed the final three lines. Dedicated to every tree still standing proud and unafraid of the dying of the light.

heartbreak
2

About the Creator

Patrick M. Ohana

A medical writer who reads and writes fiction and some nonfiction, although the latter may appear at times like the former. Most of my pieces (over 2,200) are or will be available on Shakespeare's Shoes.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran3 months ago

    That ending was so heartbreaking. Sending you lots of love and hugs 🥺❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.