Poets logo

When We Were Gods

Where Dreams May Come

By Clerone BentingPublished 20 days ago 1 min read
Like

I am God.

And I am falling.

I do not look at the earth rising up to meet me, but at the rift in the sky leaving me behind.

I see demons with sad smiles on happy faces and angels with kind eyes hiding sinister thoughts.

I see a body of fire. A woman draped in white and touched by flame. I cannot see her face, only the oblivion of her eyes, promising both the harmony and destruction that lie within them. The type that are the same color as the sea in a postcard that is sent by the one that loves you but not enough to stay.

Her eyes are blue.

And upon them I abandoned myself.

She takes my hand. I know I have to tell her something important, something I never had the chance to say in my previous life, but the weight of words left unspoken lodges itself in my throat- wanting to, but not yet moved to begin.

The ground is rising fast now.

I fear that if I ever did come to deserver-Her, there would be nothing left of the me that saw her the first time-Shhhhh

She pulls me in closer.

I'm being burned alive in an embrace I had never hoped to receive.

I'm falling.

But I don't care because it's with her.

I'm god-or at least I was.

Free Versesurreal poetrysad poetrylove poems
Like

About the Creator

Clerone Benting

As a writer, I've found my home on Vocal. Here, I share stories that reflect my love for emotional depth and suspenseful twists. Join me on this journey as we explore the complexities of the human heart, one story at a time.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Clerone Benting (Author)19 days ago

    Thanks Chloe, it was my first story in testing out this platform- your thoughts are much appreciated!

  • Chloe Gilholy19 days ago

    Very empowering.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.