Poets logo

When the Other Shoe Drops

My two books of poems

By Rasma RaistersPublished 2 years ago 13 min read
1
Me in my house in Riga, Latvia

Life was good maybe too good not everyone can say this I know. I had an old two-story house in the suburbs of Riga, Latvia with a large garden. In May the lilacs bloomed and sent perfume through the air. My five apple trees and one pear tree blossomed each sping and made the garden into a with white blossoms carried by the southern breezes like snow in springtime. I had my soul mate and he and I loved each other and we had a wonderful cat named Sid who we both loved a lot. Any problems or complaints? None.

Then after my husband's birthday in July of 2017, he got ill. Neither one of us had been sick for ages and suddenly it seemed he had a very bad virus of some kind. Usually, we got over our illnesses at home but this time things appeared to be different, My stepdaughter and I both decided it was time for the emergency room after a bit more than a week had passed, We took him on a Wednesday and he died the following day I never saw him alive again and did not get to say the final I love you, The other shoe had dropped and I had to get myself together. What I needed was a big project and so it was that I published my first book of poems quickly followed by my second book of poems. These two books now available through Amazon saw me through a very tough time and gave me an outlet for all my emotions.

My first book of poems is titled "Poetic Thoughts Fly" and they were flying every which way, The book was published in 2018 and has eight parts - Love Stories, Creative Thoughts, Celestial Orba, Feelings, Love of Nature, Straight From the Heart, Dark Shadows, and Through the Seasons. My first book of poems is dedicated to my late husband Martin Neilands. I have included the first poem from each section.

Love Stories

Another Rainy Day

Another rainy day,

another day of walking around,

dripping wet so that the tears -

upon his cheeks would not show.

He didn’t know what he would do,

when the rainbow appeared,

probably stop to watch the last,

raindrops fall,

then like a mad man he’d laugh at the rain -

wondering at the pain.

Laughter and smiles,

had left him the day,

that the love of his life,

simply opened the door,

without a word -

walking out of his life.

Putting him into so much strife,

that now he preferred the rain,

to the sun

and nothing at all was ever the same.

Nothing was any fun

and his heart, beat painfully,

he wondered,

what he would do if the rain –

always seemed to come another day.

He wondered if love could drive you insane

or perhaps he’d always been,

a bit crazy just the same

and she couldn’t handle -

his boyish charms anymore.

As he stood miserably,

searching the skies,

for signs of the rain letting up,

he saw her,

hand in hand with another man,

walking and laughing in the rain

and then he only knew darkness and pain.

Creative Thoughts

A Single Blood Red Rose

The roses blood red,

grew in her garden,

day and day out -

their perfume scenting the air.

Blood red roses,

that delighted the eye,

grew graciously.

All through the summer,

so lovely, so beautiful,

as colorful butterflies danced by,

most lovely when the early morning dew.

made shiny, pearl drops on the blossoms.

She’d often sit,

in the garden,

admiring their majesty.

Summer came and went,

quickly that year,

the roses that were so dear -

seemed to wither on the trellis.

Until only one remained,

as the autumn leaves fell.

It valiantly held position,

as all around in colors of,

orange, yellow and red,

autumn leaves danced about.

One blood red rose,

fighting to stay alive,

as the north winds blew in.

She watched from her window,

as that rose swung along,

with the winds swirling about.

It didn’t wither,

didn’t hang its head down,

she wondered when it would die -

sadly knowing that it must be soon.

Then one day,

the grey, leaden sky,

opened up wide,

silvery, lacy snowflakes,

came dancing upon the wind.

They swirled about,

in a wild dance,

soon a blanket of white -

was upon the ground.

She went to see the last rose,

there upon the white blanket of snow,

was the blood red rose,

like a spot of blood -

on the pristine white.

She smiled just knowing,

that the rose would grow again

and be the queen of her summer days again.

Celestial Orbs

Dreaming Beneath the Moon

Through the glow of the stars,

I seek to find you,

across your face I see,

the trace of dream shadows -

shining in the night.

By the scent of roses and with tender kisses,

these wondrous hours come shining -

binding the heavens with the earth below.

These moments come and as quickly they fly away

remaining unchanging through eternity.

The golden sand stops sifting through the hour glass -

a wizard’s magic balsam binds ancient tongues.

Remembering the days of wine and roses,

centuries of gentle politeness,

of long frilly dresses and top hats -

while orchestras waltzes played.

Dreaming beneath the misty moonlight,

that still makes romance so right,

shining like a candle bright -

long, long into the night.

Wondering how long it would be,

that together we could dream,

watching stars that sparkle and shine,

how wonderful to call someone mine.

As long as the magic can last,

let it take us far into the past,

where lovers through the centuries stroll –

along the Milky Way stretching across the night sky.

The night covers us with stardust,

so we can dream the hours away,

remembering how among the night shadows -

we once danced and played.

Feelings

Abracadabra

Abracadabra you were here,

then gone,

like some crazy insane magician,

you knew when to appear,

you knew how to hypnotize,

how to make me fall in love

and how to break my heart.

Abracadabra you were gone,

I searched far and wide,

not knowing if it was the pain

or the revenge that led me on,

When I found you,

you were making your magic again,

I simply told you,

the next time you wanted to,

nake me dance with you,

make me love you,

make me want you,

I'd simply say abracadabra

and in my mind I'd make you an ugly toad,

who'd hop into a swamp,

to sit there and ribbit all day long -

just fitting for a magician like you.

Love Of Nature

By the Seashore

Along the sandy beach,

my bare feet,

upon the cool sand,

shielding my eyes with my hand,

as the bright sun glares down.

Sunbeams sparkling from above,

while the waves on the sea -

shimmer like a thousand diamonds.

Waves ripple,

with caps of white,

they come lapping to shore.

The soft breeze,

ruffles my hair

and it all seemed like a fantasy.

While seashells,

sang songs of the sea.

Somewhere dolphins,

playing among the waves,

sang in harmony.

Climbing upon the sand dunes,

the wind swirled the sand particles about,

like sparkling gold particles,

falling down like magic dust.

Footprints left behind,

are washed away,

by waves lapping upon the shore.

Sandcastles,

become just ruins,

from the past,

however I want -

this magic to last.

Somewhere from above,

the plaintiff cries of gulls,

circling around,

then settling upon the ripples,

they go dancing along.

The sea quietly whispers

and somewhere mermaids are at play.

There is not much to say,

bringing memories of days gone by,

of sand and shovels

and sandcastles upon the shore.

So many happy thoughts,

running along the sea shore.

Nothing like a day,

spent by the sea -

where I so long to be -

just the sea and me.

Straight From the Heart

Beneath My Umbrella

Come beneath my umbrella,

while we walk through April showers,

let’s stroll in the park,

until twilight comes.

Underneath my umbrella,

April kisses sweet but wet,

they are always the best -

when love like new flowers blooms.

They say that April love is fleeting

and like apple blossoms,

burst forth for a short time -

then the white petals are scattered to the wind.

They say that love like lilacs,

has its own perfume,

the scent embraces

and passion sets in.

Love needs time to grow,

this I very well know,

beneath this umbrella -

we give our love vows so true.

I toss the umbrella aside,

for I know our love will endure,

tightly I embrace you,

in delight we dance among the raindrops.

For I know that once May comes,

you and I shall be here once more,

dancing under skies of blue -

with a love that is true.

Dark Shadows

A Burning Flame

There’s a burning flame,

in my heart -

where your love will forever remain.

You were my dearest friend

and when you left I just regret -

that we never got to say good-bye.

We were worlds apart,

your voice was always great to hear

and made think of all the things dear,

you meant to me.

Memories like rivers flow,

days together that just you and I know,

happy times and loving smiles.

Then one day your voice was silenced

and I knew your soul had flown,

but you left behind so much love

and a place always in my heart.

This will soon not be forgotten,

so in my heart I have lit a burning flame -

that will always speak your name.

Hope you have found the peace,

you were seeking at long last.

I’ll remember you with each bright star that shines

and keep you dear to me.

Someday I hope we meet again,

beyond the stars

and together one more time we’ll be.

Through the Seasons

A Snowy Walk

City streets full of dirty snow,

the cold north wind blows,

but I know where to go.

To see snow white and pure,

the bare tree branches,

outlined by powdery sugar.

Where ducks enjoy,

sliding on a frozen stream.

Lanterns shimmer and glow,

throwing golden light -

on the newly fallen blanket of white.

I love to take this wintry walk,

in the park,

away from the traffic

and the noise.

In the wintertime,

the city looks,

bleak and gray

and soon it seems -

that I’m in a white world of fantasy.

Alone as lacy snowflakes,

softly fall,

adorning my hat and shawl.

A silvery white world,

where I can walk and dream,

where no one seems to rush,

as the magic of the snowy paths,

beckons to wander -

ever farther into the park.

All is quiet and still,

the snow soft beneath my feet,

somewhere a pale sun shines

and the wind whispers through tall pines.

Tiny little sparrows,

dance in the snow

and it is always a delight –

in the park, in the wintertime.

My second book of poems is titled "On the Wings of Love" and includes only love poems. It was published in 2019 and has five parts - Love So True, Finding Love, Seasons of Love, Dark Side of Love, and Love For All Eternity. This book was dedicated to all the loves I have known. From this book, I have selected a few poems.

Love So True

Song of Love and Promise

Promise me you'll stay for a lifetime

and love me with passion,

promise me to always be true -

never make me blue.

Give me your love every day,

as the sun rises and sets,

because life's so very short,

hand in hand throughout the days.

Promise me that you'll be there smiling in the mornings,

holding me tight when night falls,

promise me that your smile will guide me'

by my side, you'll always be.

Till Christmas is still in December

and the New Year begins in January,

till champagne corks pop at midnight,

you there to toast with

and you're still mine -

I'll be fine.

Finding Love

A Place to Call My Own

I have been searching for so long,

searching far and wide,

looking for a place to call my own,

looking for a home -

where the sun would always shine.

Walking this world,

where I can't find peace,

burning many bridges behind me -

looking for the rainbows that chase away the rain.

I've been searching for love,

everywhere I roam,

never found peace of mind,

but it's different this time.

This time the love songs,

have rhythm and rhyme,

when you take me in your arms,

the dancing is so very fine.

Years have come and gone,

thinking of what I have done,

found my haven in your smile -

I believe I'm going to stay with you a while.

And if my home is meant to be by your side,

I do believe I'll enjoy the ride,

love for you fills me with joy,

every single day -

basking in the warmth of your love.

Seasons of Love

Always a Summer of Love

Each year that passes,

brings another summer of love,

with bird choruses

and be serenades -

our love blossoms anew.

As the scents of flowers fill the air

and magical, colorful butterflies,

seem to be everywhere,

each summer that comes,

makes it seem like such a dream.

as if I just found you yesterday

and not in our youth,

with love so very precious,

that we share,

the years seem to be rolling back,

so another summer of love,

has found us

and happy we can be -

just you and I.

With days filled with golden sun

and nights of soft summer breezes,

quiet walks along the riverside,

watching the sun make glittering gems,

of the ripples upon the water.

A summer of love,

has found us once more,

making us feel as young,

as when love was something new,

it never ceases to amaze me,

that time can flow by,

but it never takes anything from us,

for you to me are as you were yesterday

and that is something that will never change.

With you as always,

summer loving is easy,

feeling as if we were sailing,

upon the white clouds above,

enjoying fields of wildflowers,

making me feel as light as a feather,

as if the two of us would be -

dancing upon the summer breeze.

And when the summer leaves us once more,

together we'll spend the autumn days,

dreaming of our summer love,

knowing that however long it may take,

once we have come through the winter snows,

flowers will bloom once more in the spring -

bringing along another summer of love.

Dark Side of Love

Love Is Hell

You took me to hell and back,

turned my life inside out,

loved me and left me -

hanging out to dry.

My tears flowing,

my heart has been mended,

so many times,

it's sure to burst -

no super glue to put it together.

All because you found me,

in my misery,

thought you could step all over me.

Just leave me,

as you found me -

in my abject misery.

I can't take another trip,

round the emotional carousel,

I'll lock the revolving door -

making sure you're gone forevermore.

My husband Martin and I in happier times toasting to the future with Manhattans

art
1

About the Creator

Rasma Raisters

My passions are writing and creating poetry. I write for several sites online and have four themed blogs on Wordpress. Please follow me on Twitter.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.