Poets logo

Lonesome Nightingale

A poem inspired by the song "A Nightingale Sang in Berkeley Square" by Vera Lynn

By Rasma RaistersPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

Two hands outstretched, trying so hard, to reach up to the heavens, full of the sun and white sailing ships, against a background of vivid blue - stretching to eternity. Filled with bird songs, as the wind whispered, once I had my own heavens, that made me smile and filled me with joy.

My own sun, that warmed the heart and bridges created by moonbeams, across every ocean and sea, shimmering molten silver - in the dark of night. Once I had it all, but now I’m but a lonesome nightingale, ever against the wind, whichever way it blows, with broken dreams - beneath my wings.

Still, my heart silently sings, the lost songs of yesterday, that never go out of style - forever and a day. Just a lonesome nightingale, hoping to find the way home, back to where I could find the peace and the love - that now has eluded me.

Even nightingales, find the happiness they once knew, flying toward new places – once again dancing with the breeze. Hearts learn to slowly mend, golden memories to treasure, and someday soon, when the ice and snow have gone away – will come the spring with new promises.

Then the days will be much brighter, once again happy melodies will play, hearts skipping a beat for memories of lost love, making golden memories shine once more, remembering that – even lonesome nightingales can sing.

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Rasma Raisters

My passions are writing and creating poetry. I write for several sites online and have four themed blogs on Wordpress. Please follow me on Twitter.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.