Poets logo

When the hungry alien came to Scotland

Poem by Fergus Thomson

By Fergus ThomsonPublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 1 min read

Heading home from work, my bus ride was a bore. I put my headphones in my ears, to let my mind sore.

Out the window in the distance, a site to behold. A spacecraft crashing to the ground, the flames burst like gold.

The police were called, the army came, to witness such a sight. Within the craft, nothing found, it slipped into the night.

Bus ride done, walking home, it was such a scare. An alien stood before me, its tentacles in the air.

I shook, I yelled, my legs gave out, I thought I was going to die. But then something happened that definitely caught my eye.

The alien turned and shifted, its nose in the air. I wanted to run and hide, but nope, I did not dare.

I too start to sniff, I too smelled the goods. It was Scotland after all and its great taste in fried foods.

Smiling at the alien, I get up on my feet. I point this way and tell them, “Come on, let’s go eat.”

The fish and chips were lovely, the pizza was delicious. Even if the staff thought the pair of us were a bit suspicious.

The alien thanked me for the meal, it was really good. They now knew that the human race were masters of great food.

They said that they were here to conquer, which was really scary. But told me not to worry much, it was not going to get that hairy.

They sent a message to their army, that everything was fine. We said our goodbyes, but said in the future, we would love again to dine.

They beamed up towards the clear night sky, to their fleet of leaving ships. Thank God for Scotland and its love for good old fish and chips.

humor

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    FTWritten by Fergus Thomson

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.