Poets logo

When Lightning Strikes

Accepting Our Love

By Charlene Elizabeth Holkenbrink-MonkPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
When Lightning Strikes
Photo by Mélody P on Unsplash

When the lightning strikes I'm reminded of the warmth of an embrace from long ago,

When the connection was as strong as the sounds of thunder,

Rolling,

Roaring,

Moments of silent understanding followed by boisterous reality,

Pitter patter of the rain echoing that of my beating heart as it opens, reminding me of the human capacity to experience feelings.

Do feelings resurface when the sky lights up?

Darkness invaded by hope, beautiful streaks of glorious energy shared like the spark of our touch?

Ideas of fingers interlocking and the tangling of words revisiting memories and moments,

Beautiful whispers rolling from our lips while the thunder rolls across the city,

Fixated on synchronicities of everyday life, bringing lives together,

Reviving the sections of our hearts we felt were clouded by darkness,

For when the sun hits droplets after a storm rainbows abound reminding us,

Nudging us,

Then screaming at us to accept the love we so strongly desire.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Charlene Elizabeth Holkenbrink-Monk

I've used writing to discovery my Korean family heritage and rediscover myself.

I use writing to express my anguish and grief, to share my joy and happiness.

I am me, and I want to share my imaginative world with you.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.