Poets logo

When Life Happened

what I did instead of writing

By Sam Eliza GreenPublished about a year ago 1 min read
photo by Garon Piceli on Pexels

When life happened, I

*

Stared at my wall, wondering what its voice sounded like.

Packed to move across the country, again.

Hated the snow just a few more times.

Said goodbye to my friends.

*

Cried.

*

Picked up embroidery because I got awfully bored of writing.

Laughed when the dogs dragged my pillow outside.

Convinced myself to read something happy.

Conjured silly rhymes.

*

Screamed.

*

Remembered that lists aren’t supposed to end with periods.

Decided I was born in the wrong year.

Tried not to be so serious.

Cut my hair.

*

Slept.

*

Browsed unfinished drafts, frozen in procrastination.

Walked with a stranger’s puppy by the river.

Wondered what home actually meant.

Drank two liters of water.

*

Bled.

*

Loved characters more deeply than that one “almost”.

Pondered the complexities of our universe.

Hoped sunshine would heal my soul.

Admired blackbirds.

*

Smiled.

*

Realized wholeness feels better than perfection.

Collected postcards I will never send.

Got lost to midnight rumination.

Kissed my best friends.

inspirationalnature poetrylove poemslist

About the Creator

Sam Eliza Green

Wayward soul, who finds belonging in the eerie and bittersweet. Poetry, short stories, and epics. Stay a while if you're struggling to feel understood. There's a place for you here.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Kiki Le Tigreabout a year ago

    I really enjoyed reading this

  • Allie Bickertonabout a year ago

    Sam, I felt every emotion with this piece. It is beautiful, with such pretty language.

Sam Eliza GreenWritten by Sam Eliza Green

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.