Poets logo

When It Lingers

The Horrors Of The Snowman

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
17
When It Lingers
Photo by Jonathan Cooper on Unsplash

The air is brisk, though I know - it is May

I was certain that he would be gone

I don't care any longer what people say

I've seen him standing out there, on my lawn

*

I was certain that bad dream had ended

the nightmare had all gone away

I find I'm still trapped here, suspended

he's standing there holding a bouquet

*

A sign of peace? Highly unlikely

maybe they're meant to put on my grave

To catch a glimpse of him now, is unsightly

his presence proves - I can no longer be saved

*

The smile that he wears, is deceiving

evil comes in a blanket of snow

The horror that he just keeps weaving

no-one knows how long it will go

*

This time of year, we should enjoy flowers

but he has stolen the joy from my soul

My happiness he will devour

with his black eyes of coal, all aglow

fact or fiction
17

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    haha. This is great.

  • Aphoticabout a year ago

    It truly is a horror. The beach is calling, but that damned snowman just keeps forwarding to voicemail.

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    Wow , that is a slamming poem

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Fantastic!!! Loving it!!!💖💖💕

  • BTW, I loved this.

  • So very cool! I remember the year we still had snow in the shelter belts in June. The only month when there has never been snowfall in South Dakota is August.

  • Kendall Defoe about a year ago

    Yikes! You've got me worried about snow...in May! Hope those snow people don't show up in my dreams now... ☃️

  • KJ Aartilaabout a year ago

    This ##%$$^^& never-ending winter! 😡

  • ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.