Poets logo

Dreamers

Is this who I am?

By Ruby RedPublished about a month ago 1 min read
Dreamers
Photo by Nathan DeFiesta on Unsplash

Why hello there, my little dreamers,

I see you followed the stars.

You can sit now, sweetness,

These embers will flow deep into the night.

/

Are you aching again,

Here to rest your soul?

Or is there something else deep inside you,

Questioning it all?

/

Yes, sweetness, my wisdom comes from the stars,

It is my mind's only refuge to think about who we are.

And it seems you think so too,

Of all we could be.

I am glad it isn't only me.

/

What now?

Such worries, young one!

Your mother called you a dreamer,

But you've already shed that skin.

I see the sparks within you,

The passion warming your core.

You have no use for campfires,

So don't wait here for your story to be told.

/

Hands out, young one,

Feel all of where you are.

Those bold little stars know nothing,

Of what happened at the start.

/

Take a breath now,

Feel it in your lungs.

This breath makes you human,

And yet we share this world, this gift.

There is more to our story,

Than the lion's quest for survival.

Do not let it scare you,

Your breath is your way out.

/

I am fading, young one,

But I'm more than those singing fires.

You'll carry my wisdom with you,

It was always in your heart.

Ah, and here comes the meteor,

Off to whisk me away.

Here is my happy ending,

What was yours again?

Did you say?

inspirationalFree Verse

About the Creator

Ruby Red

"All the world's a stage,

And all the men and women merely players:

They have their exits and their entrances;

And one man in his time plays many parts."

- William Shakespeare

Consider this a doorway to my heart and soul. 🌱

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    Awww, the ending was kinda sad. Loved your poem!

Ruby RedWritten by Ruby Red

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.