Poets logo

When I Sleep

The Voices Come

By CatsidhePublished 2 months ago 1 min read
9

I know more of the dead than the living.

They talk to me at night as I sleep.

They bid me to join in their knowing,

The agony of life so brief.

~

They speak of an end to all sorrow,

A silent and peaceful abode,

The unflinching grip of tomorrow,

The certainty of warm flesh grown cold.

~

My nights are nothing but torment,

My days are more of the same.

These spectres mock my lament,

And softly mutter my name.

~

So, how to silence the voices

That whisper and writhe in my head,

That show me forbidden vistas

And fill all my hours with dread?

~

One day I'll wake to the silence,

And know that I'm all alone.

The world will be mine for the knowing

When the streets are paved in bone.

Elegy
9

About the Creator

Catsidhe

Pronounced Cat-she: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cat-s%C3%ACth

A public figure writing privately

Dark poems and fiction my specialty

Come explore the abyss with me

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Lamar Wiggins22 days ago

    👏👏👏💯 Wow! This was great! The flow was amazing, and the content was deliciously disturbing... Well Done!

  • Novel Allenabout a month ago

    Disturbing on many levels. I sure hope that I am not around for the bare bones part, madness in all its glory.

  • An end of sorrows yet filling with dread & the idea that the voices will only end once you have joined them & walk by their side those streets of bone. Intriguing, to say the least. The kind that sticks with you wondering when it will be our turn to walk those streets of bone.

  • Holy Smokes! What a haunting poem, Catsidhe! This is masterfully written, but oh so raw with emotion and deeply disturbing. Every line is crafted so perfectly. Well done!

  • Beautiful, haunting poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.