Poets logo

When I Say Goodbye

Written in 2017

By .Published 3 years ago 1 min read
A Cabin at Catalina Island

It’s my last day on Earth

And I lived such a good life

Now it’s time to say goodbye

With thoughts and memories of mine

I look back in my head, reflecting back in time

To a little hill sitting in the night

I’m snuggled in a sweatshirt

Looking up at the stars

If I squint, I can see Mars

In a cabin full of friends

Perched on a little pier

Reading and talking

And watching the waves appear

To a little street I loved

All colourful and curled

I sit on a wooden bench

Looking out at the world

Walking through the park

When a furry creature sniffs my hand

One scratch behind the ear

And we became best friends

To a time back long ago

When I waddled not knee high

We lined up for a race

And I dashed to the finish line

Till I fell and hit my face

But a winner was I and I shall not forget

The victorious feeling that I felt

But now it’s late at night and I’m snuggled deep in bed

Curled up by the fire with a book by my head

I seem to be dozing off as my wakefulness is slipping

And the words have started blurring

They are twisting and turning

Until they look a bit like stars

Now I’m travelling far and fast

Watching the galaxies whirl past

When the journey is over and I open my eyes

The sight before me will be impossible to describe

It was my last day on Earth

And I am glad I said goodbye

But this new place here

Is really quite fine

performance poetry

About the Creator

.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    .Written by .

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.