Poets logo

A Letter From the Sea

Written in 2017

By .Published 3 years ago 1 min read
A Letter From the Sea
Photo by Fábio Hanashiro on Unsplash

I am the sea and it’s great crashing waves

I hold Earth’s treasures, both real and manmade

I harbor massive-bellied whales whose songs travel great lengths

They tumble and roll with tons of great strength

I have otters and turtles amongst bright coral reefs

They glide and drift as gentle as a breeze

With vivid colored fish that seem beyond belief

My mysteries are endless, or so it would seem

And they are yours to find, but be cautious to touch

Polluting my life would simply be too much.

I do love Earth’s people, I don’t have much choice

I really only wish they would give me a voice

When they throw trash into my open arms

I must retaliate so we can come to terms

I will drag my currents and stretch my waves

I will close off the paths human sailors have paved

When it’s me against humanity the battle is real

A gruesome fight to which neither party will appeal

So I write you this letter as a treaty of peace

So mankind and nature might again be at ease

You may swim, play, and take the fish from my reef

But overusing these gifts will cause me such grief

Keep my waves alive and my waters clear

And I will ease away your people’s fear

But if you continue to pollute my beach

I will drive my fish far out of your reach

These are my terms, in their bittersweet nature

Accept or reject them, the consequences will come later.

inspirational

About the Creator

.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    .Written by .

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.