Poets logo

When I look into your eyes

Have you been heartbroken?

By MICHELLE SMITHPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

When I look into your eyes, I see the mistakes that were made

The hearts destroyed by your once beautiful face

Shattered pieces falling to the ground

When I look into your eyes you are nowhere to be found

Staring into space with nothing else to be found

Left out in the cold like a dog without a bone

When I look into your eyes there was never any doubt

Your mind was made up, you set out to break up

Leaving what you started out in the dust

Without a care or worry how this fire was put out

When I look into your eyes there is no regret

You feel nothing

Say nothing

You've disappeared without a trace

When I look into your eyes, I see a soul searching for life

Looking lost

Lonely with no one around in sight

Feeling stupid for letting you in

You looked like a lost puppy dog when I did

When I look into your eyes you hid it well

No sign of trauma just a set out plan instead

You acted like you were wounded when you really caused the hurt

Now I'm the fool who is stuck feeling this hurt

Heart shattering into pieces more and more each day

When I look into your eyes, I say, "how could I be so blind"

Open your eyes and see he wasn't it

Played you like the rest

Should have noticed the game girl but you just wanted to find love

When I look into your eyes it seemed like you were the right one

Fitted the lifestyle too quickly i see

Accepted the bagged and threw in your own

When I look in your eyes, I see they are made of stone

Yet I stuck around and let you use me

Feeling sick to my stomach just thinking about it

When I look in your eyes, I know it was a rouse

Feeling stupid that I even liked you

What did I see in you?

How could I do this again?

Let someone in who just ripped us apart again

When I look in your eyes, I saw all the games

Still I let all the red flags fall away

When I look into your eyes, I see my mistakes

The future I was creating was just another lose

A fool falling in love once more

Trick was on me just like before

Falling for something that wasn't worth fighting for

When I look into your eyes, I notice that I was fooled

Now I know this was never meant to be

You just needed a place to stay and someone to leave you be

When I look into your eyes, I see wasted months

Time that passed slowly without you growing much

Should have caught on but I was a fool

Lookin for love and realizing that it never was YOU

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

MICHELLE SMITH

An inspirational poet. Writing poems to show others that it is okay to show feelings another way. I've tried a couple articles but I've found I'm better at the poetry. Just want to inspire and encourage others through tough times.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.