Poets logo

Aunt

Do you have a hero in your life?

By MICHELLE SMITHPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

Someone to share you secrets with

Run to when you are feeling down

A special someone close to you, especially when you need them around

An aunt is just as special as a mother, father, or grandmother

They hold a special place in our hearts, we tend to keep closed off

So, when they start to pull away, you sit and wonder why

Where did our relationship take a wrong turn for so long?

Use to look up to you, wanted to be just like you

Now I'm wondering if you are even still my idle

Feeling silly for feeling this way, but miles separate us always

You'll always be my hero without a doubt

The one who helped me out

Was strong through it all

An aunt cares in their own way

We once I thought had a good bond

One that could never be torn apart

I was once wrong again

We are family, you are my aunt

Wish I was still little to linger in your shadow once more

Time has passed, we grew up and apart

Just remember your my idle in my heart

Ever have someone you considered your hero? Someone you looked up to when you were younger? For me it was my aunt but then as I grew up things changed. I've accept Christ, I've changed my life and now my aunt is who I still look up to but I feel like as we grew into adulthood a road separated into two parts. It is kind of sad but I guess life goes on, right? Just a moment to remember your hero, why did you look up to them? Take a moment to reflect on the memories from the past because even though they are in the past doesn't mean they were forgotten. Just a little food for thought.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

MICHELLE SMITH

An inspirational poet. Writing poems to show others that it is okay to show feelings another way. I've tried a couple articles but I've found I'm better at the poetry. Just want to inspire and encourage others through tough times.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.