Poets logo

Watcher at night

When I was a child, I would occasionally sense an intense, ominous presence watching me as I lay in bed at night. These experiences were rare, perhaps a few times a year. I would...

By spooky sessionPublished 12 days ago 1 min read
1
Recommended to play this video(music) while reading

When I was a child, I would occasionally sense an intense, ominous presence watching me as I lay in bed at night. These experiences were rare, perhaps a few times a year. I would keep my eyes shut and try to ignore the feeling until it passed or I fell back asleep.

As I grew older, I decided to confront this fear. The next time I felt the watcher's presence, I opened my eyes and boldly said "Hello!" This was a mistake.

The presence became far more intense than ever before. My memories of what followed are hazy. I know I was fully awake at first - I checked the time on my alarm clock twice to confirm I was not dreaming. But at some point I must have fallen asleep, because the next thing I remember is being in a bright room with my cousin berating me for doing something so reckless. I later asked her if she had shared this dream, but she had not.

I have vague recollections of shadowy hands emerging from the floor to grab me after I did the clock check. I think they succeeded, but I cannot recall clearly. There is a gap between being awake and doing the check, and finding myself in the room with my cousin.

I wrote down some of this experience at the time, but will have to find my notes to see if they contain more details. After this final, intense encounter I never spoke to "the watcher" again.

Now that I no longer live in that childhood bedroom, I have not felt its presence for many years.

Mental Healthinspirationalhumorhow toHolidayheartbreakBlackoutart
1

About the Creator

spooky session

Daily spooky story

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran11 days ago

    Hey, just wanna let you know that this is more suitable to be posted in the Fiction community 😊

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.