Poets logo

When Darkness Falls

They come at night when all is still.

By NadiaPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
When Darkness Falls
Photo by SHTTEFAN on Unsplash

They come at night when all is still.

As I lay silent, through my body comes a sudden chill.

I hear the whispers calling out my name.

Shadows creeping along the wall wanting to play a game.

Closer and closer they come to me.

They claw their way along my flesh just to watch me bleed.

They enter my mind and unravel my deepest sorrow.

Caught in this night, how I wish for the morrow.

I am frozen in terror as night slowly turns to day.

They retreat into the shadows and await the dark to once again come out and play.

sad poetry

About the Creator

Nadia

I've loved writing for as long as I can remember. There's a certain appeal in the ability to create a work of art from a simple thought or an image of inspiration. The possibilities are endless.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    NadiaWritten by Nadia

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.