Poets logo

Outré

Don't you worry about a thing.

By NadiaPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Outré
Photo by Sasha Freemind on Unsplash

Why?

Why don’t they like me?

Why don’t they see me?

I’m always left alone.

Barely even breathing.

One step forward.

Two steps back.

Trying to get through the day.

Trying to follow the pack.

Maybe I’ve been a follower.

Maybe that’s my problem.

Trying to keep up with those around me.

Yet ending up at the bottom.

Why should I care what they say?

Why should I care what they do?

They can all keep on laughing.

I’ll keep laughing too.

No I’m not perfect.

And that’s perfectly okay.

I’ll just keep on smiling.

Untroubled and unafraid.

One day they’ll see.

One day they’ll know.

This is my story.

The story previously untold.

Don’t be the same.

Sameness is a bore.

Add a dash of different.

Then add a little more.

No one is like me.

No one is like you.

Take off that mask.

It’s too easy to see through.

I will soar high above the sky.

Like a butterfly with beautiful wings.

Don’t you worry.

Don’t you worry about a thing.

The past is gone.

She is too.

I am done with blending in.

Blending in is no use.

That time is over.

Over and done.

You can’t stop me now.

The battle is already won.

You’ll see me again.

Don’t think I’ve forgotten.

I will forever and always be.

Commonly Uncommon.

inspirational

About the Creator

Nadia

I've loved writing for as long as I can remember. There's a certain appeal in the ability to create a work of art from a simple thought or an image of inspiration. The possibilities are endless.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    NadiaWritten by Nadia

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.