Poets logo

What You’ve Made me

Despondency

By Erin BarteskiPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
What You’ve Made me
Photo by Viktor Forgacs on Unsplash

“The person who tries to live alone will not suceed as a human being. His heart withers if it does not answer another heart. His mind shrinks away if he hears only the echoes of his own thoughts and finds no other inspiration.” - Pearl S. Buck

I wade through the darkness that’s fallen around me like a shroud

With my arms outstretched trying to find something to grab a hold of

That will steady me from the murkiness trying to carry me away

To find a place I can come undone but the night seems endless

I am surrounded by the empty silence that slowly envelops me

Where all of my pain bleeds out

Into something I can no longer contain

We drifted apart and I am left hollow

You are there to haunt my dreams with your faceless apparition

I can still feel you through the distance

Your voice, just a distant echo

I am left here clinging to your lies disguised as promises

Surrounded by images of candid polaroids I want to burn

Your intention was to deceive and it will never be the same again

Cause I don’t know how to hide this pain

I am done falling for you

Time and time again, you threw it all away

This feeling won’t let me go

You don’t see what you’ve made me

When you smile at me like it’s the very first time

And I fall to my knees again

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Erin Barteski

Fascination with the unknown

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.