Poets logo

What Will It Be?

a time of speculation

By Grace GuzmanPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

Wrongs and rights;

Mistakes and excuses;

Opinions and facts;

Hurt and defenses;

The sick and the lonely;

The weary and abandoned;

The loved and forgiven;

We are all connected, yet we ignore one another;

We fight wars side by side, yet we quarrel in parking lots for who got there first;

We are all born to die, but somehow the thought of death will always mortify us;

An eye for an eye, an ear for an ear, I forgive, but I never forget, the code we all live by;

You hurt me, you’ll pay for this, you left me, I’ll leave those who still love me;

I’m unwanted, ignored by all, trampled on, laughed at, forgotten, walked on by;

Can’t ever take a break, can’t ever catch my breath, suffocated by it all;

I’m better off than most, yet they’ll never understand;

I’m free to live, why do I feel so trapped;

I’m living, walking, moving, so where am I heading;

I can smile, laugh, thrive like most, when will my head ever clear from all the standards;

Crossed lines, broken boundaries, walked edges, thin ice shattered;

Hours and hours of talks and laughs to minutes of escalated argument to seconds till the broken heart;

A spinning world, a flowing economy, a cacophony of daily traffic, a steady-beating heart;

A stumble of words, an angered cry, a tearful shout, the heavy sigh of giving up;

Keep on fighting, take it step by step, rise above the noise, lift up your face, all easier said than done;

There is a purpose, this has a purpose, you have a purpose, we have a purpose, words that sound emptier than a school hallway on a Saturday;

Empty beauty, vacant eyes, weary hands, tired knees, loud and far from peace mind;

No sense of belonging, wandering through my mind, shifting my way through the day, just trying to get some space;

Peaked perfection, exceptional effort, triumphant work done, unrecognized talent, praise that will never come with the passing of my life;

Who we are in the time given is unbelievably vital, my meaningless speaks for itself;

Even the fool will be wise to speak to the fool who believes to be wise;

An effort must be put forth to attain the desired prize;

A prize, a goal, a dream, a quota, a deadline, the end goal, the beginning of the a new beginning is what most strive for;

Living is what separates the free from the slave, for they only try to survive, barely making it through that moment instead of a lifetime;

What are we left with after we fall, mistakes to add on to the large heap sitting in our minds;

What do we do after we’ve had another breakdown, decide to shut out the world around since it was already shutting me out anyways;

What am I aiming for, why am I still trying, why do I set myself up for failure, what do I gain from a life of disappointment;

What more must I endure to finally learn I’m not meant to get up after being knocked down over and over again;

My heart persists, my mind still reeling on what’s up ahead, my body aching to see the other side, straining yet hopeful;

Silly mind, silly heart, believing silly lies, accepting bogus excuses, patient to the very end;

Tired mornings, restless nights, pacing between the struggles of now, yet anxious of what could be;

Just let go, just give in, forget it all, forget them, forget what could’ve been and accept the now;

Yet somehow I won’t and I just can’t;

I won’t let myself slip, I’ll hang on cause I can see it just up ahead;

I’m reaching for it, though I believed I wouldn’t;

I’m nearly there;

Begin.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Grace Guzman

I write about what I like, poetry and my Top Tens.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.