Poets logo

Mixed Feelings

by Grace Guzman

By Grace GuzmanPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

I have a love for humanity,

But I can’t stand people at times.

You may take me as a cynic,

But there is no hate inside me.

No envy on my part.

However, I do not understand

How people can live with themselves

And harbor such strong, negative feelings.

Though war, abuse and injustice

Bring me down,

I can’t afford to hate another,

When I know I’ve committed worse acts than these.

I have never brought a knife to anyone’s throat,

But I have knocked someone down with my words.

It seems to be a matter of perspective,

Or just an exaggerated comparison,

But there is so much work

To be done on many people’s part.

I will continue to do mine,

I can only hope

That you will do the same.

Follow my poetry page, Some Unwritten Words, on Instagram to purchase poetry frames and handwritten poems for your loved ones.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Grace Guzman

I write about what I like, poetry and my Top Tens.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.