Poets logo

What we Were Supposed to Have

Poetry; Self Expression

By Rilee AreyPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
What we Were Supposed to Have
Photo by DDDanny D on Unsplash

What we were supposed to have

We knew our time together was fading each day,

Every moment felt so right, but was slowly slipping away,

And you see,

I felt ever one of those moments,

I felt the absence of my hand on your face, while it was still placed,

I felt the slipping moments as they passed, small cuts like shards of glass,

Every hug you gave, made me crave, a never-ending supply from you,

I feared our first last, how our togetherness would only remain in our past,

And you see,

One more hug wouldn't be enough,

One more kiss would still be the last on my lips,

One more last night together, would still not mean your mine forever.

The last of anything with you would still never be enough,

I feel incomplete without your touch,

My heart in embedded in you with trust,

My entire body aches with the distance of our love,

But you see,

Who you are to me, is a dream,

Basically, everything I need,

Our growth together sprouts like a tree,

But with different limbs of where we desire to be,

So how can being with you never be enough, but still, we are not enough,

How can I ache from your absence, but I can't live my dream without your absence?

How can I continue to hold your heart, have a new start and not be falling apart?

Because I am,

I wish you could see me bleed,

A physical way where you can see,

It's more than nighttime anxiety.

But more than that,

I wish there was a way,

A way where I could stay,

And we could be us at the end of each day,

Without taking either of our dreams away.

I wish this was different,

Without the changing of our paths,

Where it doesn't fall into settlement,

If only that's what we are supposed to have.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Rilee Arey

What a life we live, Lets live a life where we have something to write home about!

27-year-old trying to find meaning, love and a life worth living.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.