Poets logo

What Truly Breaks a Heart?

A Poem

By ReileyPublished 13 days ago 1 min read
What Truly Breaks a Heart?
Photo by Sebastiano Piazzi on Unsplash

"I am so happy!"

"No, you're not."

"I'm in love!"

"Once again, you're not."

"I'm finally going to be successful."

"No, you won't."

"I have faith in myself."

"No, you don't."

"Well, I can still have a bright future ahead of me."

"If the thought makes you feel good."

"I'll become who I always wanted to be."

"That's only if you could."

"There's nothing that can stop my dreams."

"You say that now."

"I'll achieve such a worthwhile and beautiful life."

"Really? But how?"

"Heart, why are you so cruel?"

"I'm not. Your doubt just breaks me under its immense rule."

sad poetry

About the Creator

Reiley

An eclectic collection of the fictional and nonfictional story ideas that have accumulated in me over the years. They range from all different sorts of genres.

I hope you enjoy diving into the world of my mind's constant creative workings.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Andrea Corwin 13 days ago

    Oh, great entry! I loved it.😍

  • Joe Patterson13 days ago

    Poignant.

ReileyWritten by Reiley

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.