Poets logo

What I Learned From the Lockdown

A COVID-19 Inspired Poem

By Judey Kalchik Published about a month ago 1 min read
10
What I Learned From the Lockdown
Photo by Kristina Tripkovic on Unsplash

So long ago but just yesterday.

Jobs gone.

People gone.

Groups forbidden.

Tylenol sold out.

Yeast sold out.

Eggs all but unavailable.

Milk in short supply.

Tissues and paper products used to tip delivery drivers.

~

Hope is not gone.

Caring is not gone.

Love is not gone.

Fear is not gone.

(But fear is not alone. )

Courage is there, too.

Courage is not gone.

Courage is taking action despite the presence of fear.

~

Fear stops.

Courage DOES.

You can be afraid.

You can be angry.

You can be sad.

And you can still have courage.

~

If you feel the paralysis of fear

or sadness,

or grief,

or worry;

acknowledge it.

Know it.

Name it.

~

Then focus on the next thing you need to do.

Find the action needed to do just that one thing.

And even though all that fear and sadness and anger is still there

Courage will be there, too.

~

You are strong.

You are wise.

You are loving.

You are courageous.

You are wonderful.

~

Comments welcome.

inspirationalGratitude
10

About the Creator

Judey Kalchik

It's my time to find and use my voice.

Poetry, short stories, memories, and a lot of things I think and wish I'd known a long time ago.

You can also find me on Medium

And please follow me on Threads, too!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock30 days ago

    Sage counsel, Judey. Let those with ears hear!

  • This was extremely powerful, optimistic and uplifting! Loved your poem!

  • Shirley Belkabout a month ago

    Judey, in America I don't think we have ever recovered from the lock-down. The whole concept was bizarre, truly. Besides having to deal with all of that, I have a blood clot in my arm and was on blood thinners. I had withdrawals from anti-anxiety meds...couldn't take them with the blood thinners. Fun times. Good advice in your poem.

  • Mariann Carrollabout a month ago

    Love it 🥰 Inspirational

  • Daphsamabout a month ago

    Thank you for this. I am dealing with sciatic nerve pain today, feeling sad and fearful. Your poem really was very healing for me today. "You are strong. You are wise. You are loving. You are courageous. You are wonderful." Thank you

  • Kendall Defoe about a month ago

    You are here. You are writing. You are special. I am done... Now, where's the Tylenol? 💊

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.