Poets logo

What I Have

Darkness In Me

By Heather C. BeckPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

Demons in my head call me crazy

Would I know I was crazy if I was

How do I live through this

Can I silence it all in one go, or can I push through it

What do I do, where do I go

My silence is heavy, my pain I wear deep

My sorrows are scars deep within

The smile you see is not the smile I want

I try to aim for happiness, but I fail each time

Don’t tell me to sign away what little I have

When it is all that is left of me

All have been taken from me, bit by bit over the years

Stripped bare to nothing left, I have no more strength to give

An ounce of happiness has been all I wanted for once

Why do I feel forsaken, would I be better left under the cobblestone

Demons I fight every day

Some are easier than others, and most days I feel I win

Every battle I have won with my head held high,

For once, I feel I am at my breaking point

How can I win this battle

It feels more like a war than a battle

Raging within, my spirit feels broken, can I get up again, can I stand again,

Can I walk again and hold my head up one more time

I am tired of the mask I wear most of the time,

I want to take it down for good, ‘lo I do not know how

It seems darkness finds me everywhere

No matter where I run or hide,

Is the darkness really my only friend now?

performance poetrysad poetrysocial commentarysurreal poetryslam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Heather C. Beck

I'm a mother, author and full-time writer. I have one book of poems fully published in different formats that can be found on Lulu, and 2 ongoing novels available for reading On KDP Vella. Plus, much more to come!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.