Poets logo

What I Had to Change

A relationship shouldn't feel like captivity

By CorwynnaPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
What I Had to Change
Photo by Michael Jasmund on Unsplash

To be with you I had to change

The way I spoke and listened

Some of this was for the best

I learned what healed and blistered

Some of this was just control

Your chains piercing my tongue

To disagree was an attack

You'd hit back before long

To be with you I had to change

The way I thought of caring

A half smile is enough for some

But perhaps I'm more daring

I'd rather hold and be held back

Than stand alone and watch

I'd rather take a chance and try

Even if the try is botched

To be with you I had to change

The way I understood

Cutting words were never meant

Unless the cut was good

Or so you said and twisted things

Until the world confused me

I thought I was the problem

Til others pointed out you'd used me

To be with you I had to change

How much I cared for me

You made it better to stay silent

Than speak for what I'd need

And silent still you'd stay yourself

Had I not taken to the horns

And called you out from your stone walls

Though my message was torn

To be with you I had to change

So much I felt diminished

But when my trust faded away

You said that we were finished

And I looked 'round the rubble

That you'd made of what I built

And realized captivity

Was all that I had felt

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Corwynna

I'm a 28 year old writer and biologist with a million hobbies and enough passion for all of them!

Explore my music, stories, and homebrew on my site:

https://sites.google.com/view/corwynnascorner/home

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.