Poets logo

What Had Held us together

Staying friends with someone but realizing your connection with them is no longer

By Rilee AreyPublished 2 years ago 1 min read

I remember my last night with you,

our last dance,

holding onto you in the midst of the living room,

family around, but only you were there,

grasping onto the lyrics as they became the home to our truth,

I hold on to that song today, in a different way,

I go back to that dance,

I think about the way you held me, the look in your eyes

And the goodbye that would follow,

As that was the last night, you would hold me as more than friends,

I can lock away that memory of love,

and look at our time together as good,

but the absence in your voice today that once was there, cuts deep,

your sincerity is now a scarcity,

We have our memories that are open and free to remise,

but your knowledge of me is carried forward in a harsh light today,

Our infrequencies became louder in the absence of our togetherness,

Our commonalties have become clearer as not common at all,

we are now individuals, bonded by memories,

friendship granted by having history,

You are focusing on you, and I support you,

but our talks become shorter, as we continue,

our conversations catch at memories and our current one's clash,

I have realized that our connection, my connection was to you,

was how we were, to the memories we made,

not to who we are individually,

We hold on to the sweet deep in-betweens, as our relationship shallows,

A friendship I didn't want to let go of,

Even when there is riminess of love,

It isn't enough,

We remain as friends,

But our connection has come to an end,

as we grow and become more different people,

Then the people we were together,

The absence of us has made it evident,

There was never going to be more then there was,

because we are so different,

And it has made it apparent,

That the physical connection to you,

Was what held us together.

heartbreak

About the Creator

Rilee Arey

I am a professional life romantizer, with a heart that feels everything deeply. I am a moment collector through words and the ways around us.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Rilee AreyWritten by Rilee Arey

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.