Poets logo

Wetting My Sole

It's about the release

By Ali SPPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Wetting My Sole
Photo by Ruslan Zh on Unsplash

Tiny water droplets land on my face

First a drizzle

Now a downpour

*

People seek cover inside

Others pull out their coveted umbrellas while

The cloudy sky

Releases beads of water

That dances atop parked cars

*

Life memories flush out of me

With each splatter of the rain

And intensifies as drumming continues against my skin

My feet dig into the land and my sole

Becomes renewed

Washed and cleansed

As the water slides underneath

*

Too much time spent hiding in the shade

Afraid to step into a puddle

Looking from the inside

Because that’s what other people did

Why are we so afraid to live?

*

The rainfall creates a long continuous note in the wind

As I watch the trees sway in the breeze

The roots within the soil drink

Quenching their thirst

Fulfilling their needs

I am reminded that they are living

What more excuses do I need?

*

The rain gradually fades

My drenched clothing clings to my skin

Water slowly drips down to my feet

Like the dripping trees

I care not for what anyone thinks

Giving opinions

Making lists of what an ideal human being is

*

I am glad for the opportunity to release this weight

To transport my soul even though temporarily

Into an experience that is so freeing

To be one with nature

Openly receiving the gifts that it gives

*

Now I can walk back in

My sole pressed against the moist ground

I smile at the onlookers

What a pity to remain trapped inside

In more ways than one

...

Thank you for reading! This piece was first published here.

nature poetry

About the Creator

Ali SP

Ali has found a renewed passion for reading and creating. It is now a form of expression for her– another creative outlet which she works to improve upon.

https://www.instagram.com/art.ismyrefuge/

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Kali Mailhot2 years ago

    Beautiful experience you’ve walked us through, with an amazing sensory development. I am curious to pull on that thread even more! And it is too true how people miss out on the rain. Summers where I am are quite hot; I still remember the elation of standing in a swift storm. Thank you for sharing. Please check out my submission as well!

Ali SPWritten by Ali SP

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.