Poets logo

Weird, weird dreams

Surrealist journey into my subconscious

By Nicole CPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Weird, weird dreams
Photo by Bruce Christianson on Unsplash

Howl at the moon,

What about a cat? Meow.

Running down the stairs

These neverending stairs.

Scoop that litter

Water that plant

⁃ who is knocking?

An alarm a scream a siren.

Sirens in the deep, depths of

These oceans with waves

I don’t know how I’m breathing;

Has my tail turned itself to legs?

Webbed feet, webbed fingers,

Multi-coloured hair and fingernails

Diving deeper and deeper.

What year is it? Am I allowed to ask?

Lucidly, I scream at the others below

Me, “What year is it?!” They all

Suddenly look up, as if an intruder

Appeared - then I am sucked away,

Away to another Universe,

I was not supposed to stay.

I still don’t know what year it is.

Why are we climbing up these stairs?

Mother? Aunty? The Buddha over

There? To the top of these stairs,

We will meet it?

Over there, across those mountains,

You will see from the top, it’s over

There.

surreal poetry

About the Creator

Nicole C

Writing sporadically... I tried some challenges but never won anything. Sometimes my poetry helps me process whatever has been going on... sometimes it is pure fiction. Sometimes I like to write about pop culture and astrology.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • S.R.Daley2 years ago

    I’m not sure if it what you were going for, but that reminds me of how I remember dreams in small parts. Never a whole part, just one part of it. Still a good read though.

Nicole CWritten by Nicole C

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.