Poets logo

We Stand With You

A tribute to the children of Nickelodeon

By Joe PattersonPublished about a month ago 2 min read
5

Every day as a kid I watched you growing up. Television party after school? You were showing up.

The street light is on, dusk has arrived and I’m goin’ in. It’s time for me watch Nickelodeon.

You were life for this 90’s baby, it’s all facts. Kenan & Kel, The Amanda Show and All That.

All of your theme songs were on the soundtrack to my life. Every time I heard it I knew that I would be alright.

Nickelodeon child you really brought me through hard times. Yet I never knew that you were dealing with dark times.

So much happened to you and you were abused. Predators manipulated you just to be used.

I used to ask myself why did so many of you go insane. It’s because you dealt with years of unbelievable pain.

How could you look at your trauma and not hate. Your innocence was nearly ill fated and yet you made it.

One part of me wants to weep for you. The other part wants to hurt those predatory creeps for you.

They told you to be quiet on set, but until you get Justice everyday should be a riot on set.

They turned you all into victims and they lied on you, but the fans know the truth and we will ride for you.

So I’m writing you this dedication letter. Thanking you for all the times you made our lives better.

Whenever I get to a point where I don’t think I’ll survive I’ll recount your story and make it out alive.

For all the pain you endured we raise a hand with you. We have your backs no matter what and yes we stand with you.

~ This poem is dedicated to all the former child stars who were abused at Nickelodeon. We stand with you.

OdeinspirationalGratitude
5

About the Creator

Joe Patterson

Hi I'm Joe Patterson. I am a writer at heart who is a big geek for film, music, and literature, which have all inspired me to be a writer. I rap, write stories both short and long, and I'm also aspiring to be an author and a filmmaker.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Rebekah Crawleyabout a month ago

    It’s sickening and heartbreaking what’s happened to them I feel so shocked by how bad it actually was now it’s all coming out. So sad, we stand with them ❤️

  • Tiffany Gordon about a month ago

    Powerful & inspiring!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.