Poets logo

I Am A Survivor

An ode to survival

By Joe PattersonPublished about a month ago 1 min read
7
I Am A Survivor
Photo by Jordan Donaldson | @jordi.d on Unsplash

My soul is a place of which you can’t instill fear. It’s not that I don’t feel fear, but no matter what I’m still here.

Every now and then I might take a fall, but if I collapse again then courage and perseverance will break the fall.

Life is rough, but sometimes life isn’t rough enough. When it hits me hard I give myself a pep talk and toughen up.

I know the devil is mad. I’m too stubborn to not get back up. Looking down at the ground I know the devil is sad.

He thought he could beat me, but he couldn’t take away my faith. He didn’t defeat me.

I may lose every now and then, but that’s all part of the process. Every time I rise back to my feet I make progress.

They call me a young thriver. No matter what I am a fighter. Always and forever I will be a survivor.

inspirational
7

About the Creator

Joe Patterson

Hi I'm Joe Patterson. I am a writer at heart who is a big geek for film, music, and literature, which have all inspired me to be a writer. I rap, write stories both short and long, and I'm also aspiring to be an author and a filmmaker.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Tiffany Gordon about a month ago

    Amen Joe! This was a blessing & a masterpiece!

  • Babs Iversonabout a month ago

    Impressive!!! Love your inspirational poem!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Andrea Corwin about a month ago

    I love the ending! Spectacular! 😍

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.