Poets logo

We Even the Score

(finding balance in Life) or (fuck it-- i'm woke and I'm not gonna apologize for it anymore)

By Brijit ReedPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
1
Wheel of Life painting, by Brijit Reed

(hit play)

she’s in my house again,

reading my books,

drinking my tea,

feeding my cat,

 

speaking like me.

 

i didn’t invite her in.

not consciously.

 

she is not Me.

 

I'm over there—

in the same chair—

  that she is.

 

this is what puzzles

and quizzes me…

 

where does she start

and I begin?

how do her bones

fit into my skin?

 

my dark and baleful twin is sleeping when She wakes

and Woke when she's sleeping.

ourSelves, mirror images of eachOther

born and born and born again

in perfect spirals of thriving and striving Life.

 

hush now, you blackening storm with your cracking skies

and gaping jaws,

i'm jumping into the void inside--

the fulcrum, the portal to Life--

to pay my respects to my Mother, my Father,

and mySelf, Their Child.

 

i'm waking in the morning light

and accepting my next role

in this perpetually pivoting pain and pleasure,

playfully producing a peaceful and progressive revolution.

 

when we complete the circuit

we even the score.

see the sun shining on me now,

gilding my shadows and warming my frozen bones,

for i chose peace and beauty--

not spite.

and when there’s nothing more to learn,

my twin will step in and spin the wheel once more.

for True Gods love Their healers and Their saints--

Their monsters and Their mistakes--

in equal and unconditional measure.

this is the force that keeps the medicine wheel turning.

 

 

love poems
1

About the Creator

Brijit Reed

Freelance ghostwriter, editor, and screenwriter striving to create a better world. Words and images are just the beginning.

https://www.instagram.com/brijitreed/

https://twitter.com/BrijitReed

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Awesome!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.