Poets logo

Little Demon

By Baz James

By Baz JamesPublished 19 days ago 1 min read
1
Little Demon
Photo by Stefano Pollio on Unsplash

There’s a creature sitting

IN ON OUT

of my chest

Curled on the upper parts of my lungs

feeling as they struggle to go

UP down

Twined between my ribs

cracking and pushing them to make more room

it clawed its way past layers of skin

to rest its eldritch head on my breast

Sometimes it creaks its head back to make eye contact

My breath

s u e s

t t t r

misses a beat

and then we’re breathing in sync

My heart stills, because I’m sure it has none

i am him and he is me and we are

our mouth opens

---

The creature follows me for days

I feel its endless eyes following me

Pinning me like a locus to a board

He steps on my shadow just to see me trip

Even though I am unable to see

he gets bigger every time I glance over my shoulder

DRIP

DROP

SPLAT!!

goes his eyes

---

when he and I are we

Everything is so flat

pulled tight and waiting to snap

A person gambles and takes a stroll

They try to shine lights in the dark spaces we lie

Laughter echoing, disturbing

Our lip pulls back, showing our teeth

an imitation a warning

Our face contorts our maw gaping

SNAP!

Mental Health
1

About the Creator

Baz James

I'm just as surprised as everyone else about what comes out of my mouth.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Manisha Dhalani18 days ago

    Woah okay, did not see the ending coming. Nice poem.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.