Poets logo

We can't let the robots write all the Love Poems

A Love Poem. Actually, this time. For you.

By Ashe LawsonPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
3

(Instinctively, just now, I went to read the poem

I haven't written to you yet.

It looks like you’ll be doing this with me.

[you always only ever were.])

(what a mad thing it is.

to be broken open. with you.)

This particular life was never a thing

That held me very close.

I was ready to quit at any time.

Cold turkey.

You shot marrow

into my bones. Now,

my attachment to this life

leaves me breathless.

I gave the birds an oath, for you.

(It’s the first that I remember making.)

It’s all me. And you. And you and me.

As you and me

And you and me

As us.

We are the spell.

Our falling is the magic.

We can just, do it.

Every day.

(I do think fondly, though,

of the times we were fungus.

My tendrils. And yours.

Turning decay into life.

[A messier process,

as humans.])

*shall we proceed,

past the preface?*

I believe, now,

That we will.

Æ

sad poetrylove poemsinspirational
3

About the Creator

Ashe Lawson

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.