Poets logo

Water

Returning to the Timeless Universe

By Daniel BenistyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
Written and Narrated by Daniel Benisty

WATER

Returning to the timeless universe

Where I have many times requested

all the world's beauties … and its tragedies

Where I finally discovered that poetry was a mirror of jazz

Both unhinged desires to deflect from the norm,

Throwing a curveball, but keeping it tight

Knowing which is left brain and which is right.

Knowing now that Death opens up so much space

Even tho I was never any kind

of epidemic child,

Nor raised by the State.

Dear life, instead I assumed I was doomed

In the darkened penitentiary

Of a silent room

I put up a missing person

poster to myself and later exited,

Excited To dance on a dancefloor of war

where the darker rhythms played.

Memories still bite like mosquitoes

Tongues still snap like guns

And with all its poetry and sincerity

The world is still a bucketful of fun

Prisons now built with stones of law

Cradle my limits

But I discovered this new religion based on water

A new spirituality based on flow,

Daoism for those in the know.

Many a fallen divinity has strived

To answer the great questions …

But Give us more gods, or women

We are so tired of men.

And Let’s say the dead are buried under the fire -

their ashes dissipate into ghosts

How else WOULD energy be transformed?

But To an eternal host.

Returning to the Timeless Universe

I am among the great ships that docked when I found my peace of mind

My soul was stretched out tight against an endless sky

And I embraced a new religion based on water.

God is still the same as ever

He’s just more apparent in the microcosm of hydrogen and oxygen atoms

Than in the unwitnessable macrocosm of the infinite cosmos

Returning to the timeless universe

Back beyond good and evil

I immerse myself into the shivering traces of home theatre

Into decisions that last days

Into monologues that last months

Into yearning that lasts years

And, into the depths I plunge

Looking for magic, mystery to save me, or music to enslave me

Returning to the timeless universe

Returning to the timeless universe

surreal poetry
2

About the Creator

Daniel Benisty

Musician, Poet, Translator, Singer, Comedian. The world is waiting.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.