Poets logo

Water Bed, Water Aerobics, Not Enough Water, Water Protector

Is this enough ways to mention water in a short rhyme?

By Denise E LindquistPublished about a year ago 2 min read
1
Water Bed, Water Aerobics, Not Enough Water, Water Protector
Photo by ANGÉLICA SABINA on Unsplash

I heard the term costochondritis some thirty years ago or so. Why was I diagnosed with it, and I had to find out what it was, no? I thought I may be having a heart attack. I was asked, “Do you have a waterbed?” Yes, actually I did. What was it about the waterbed I said.

“When you push out of it, it can strain the cartilage, that holds your chest cavity, your ribs in place.”

Okay, now what, I no longer have a waterbed. And I sometimes wish I did, but I don’t have the space. It is from putting my new boots on, as they take a shoehorn, muscles, and strength I have no longer.

“Just try to relax for a few days, and take it easy, use this until you are stronger.”

“Oh, and by the way, try water aerobics starting soon. It will just be a one-half hour of physical therapy, two or three days a week.” I just must drive to the moon. Well, it really isn’t that far, but too far for 2–3 times a week!

“You are not drinking enough water as it is important for you to stay hydrated.” Is there a test for that? How do they know that? Let me in on the trick, so I know too that I am not drinking enough I spat.

Oh boy, I bet I told them how much I drink, and she bases it on drinking half of your weight, the brat!

I want to get back to the water ceremony on Sunday. It is my preference for spending the day. I fell and broke my arm now 3 or so years ago. I have trouble when there is snow on the ground to go.

I continue to pray for the water, whether I go or not. Singing the songs and recycling and doing my part to help the water and world not go to rot or pot.

Now you know what my focus has been lately! If only, I wasn’t so old. I may not be dealing with some of this recently. I could just be focusing on everything fun. And that would be a way to celebrate decently!

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

First published by Penny Press on Medium

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • KJ Aartilaabout a year ago

    I find water fascinating, probably because I fear. I love your honesty and sense of humor in this! :)

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Excellent!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.