Poets logo

Washing my Ex-Husband's Shirts

Seeing our own dirt

By Jenine Bsharah BainesPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Washing my Ex-Husband's Shirts
Photo by Phoebe T on Unsplash

I don’t always wash

my ex-husband’s shirts.

These, though, I was meant to –

poetic justice harmonizing

with Calliope’s bemused giggles

and my delight

seed-pearled with gratitude

for the opportunity

to be of service.

This musing, no airing of my own dirty laundry—but a gaze into yet one more crystalline dew ball of dawning enlightenment: dry cleaning doesn’t always work. Some stains we, ourselves, must work on. Let us mull the wetwork role we have played.

The sauce or wine in a goblin’s goblet of acid resentment we threw to pockmark others

with our own pain. The blood we drew – expert technicians plunging needles of nursed rage into raw places. No intent here to diagnose, much less heal.

My intention today, re-tackling

the stains on my ex-husband’s shirts.

Not in penance – although remorse is a key enzyme in atonement’s strange kindness –

but

with raw-kneed humility.

World without end wash cycles

of noble-hearted openness.

By Casey Horner on Unsplash

Copyright Jenine Bsharah Baines

heartbreakinspirationallove poems
Like

About the Creator

Jenine Bsharah Baines

A poet. A seeker of Light. A lover of Mother Earth in all Her manifestations...especially trees. Trees sing, did you know this?

"My religion is kindness." Dalai Lama

"In the end, we're just walking each other home." Leonard Cohen

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.