Poets logo

Warmth Fills My Soul

All beautiful things that fill my heart and soul with warmth, everything that feels like home.

By Mercedes ChavezPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
1

Rain. So peaceful, so powerful, a force to be reckoned with but so beautiful to sit and watch. I find myself in sort of a trance, watching it fall, is like seeing the heavens shed a million glorious tears, shimmering in the moonlight like tiny teardrop diamonds. I lay by the window staring outside, watching the heavens tears fall against the glass, I reach over and light the wick of my favorite candle, pumpkin spice pie, I always feel as if I am being wrapped in pumpkin, cinnamon, and cloves.

Autumn leaves falling, the red, orange, and yellow spinning in the wind, small blissful twists of warm colors twirl about outside. A dance of fire, when the wind blows them, it looks as if the flames are being fanned. The colors are what I look forward to every year, the dance of fire I call it, even with the chill of winter in the air, the colors are what bring me warmth.

Coffee, tea, hot chocolate, if it's hot, my soul needs it, as much as I need air to breathe. It may sound cliché, but pumpkin spice coffee when you first wake up in the morning, and you sit outside just as the sun starts to come up and there are still some crickets chirping; the chill starts to kiss at your cheeks, so you break out a warm blanket to cuddle under, sipping hot coffee letting it warm you slowly, as it starts to drizzle and the faint glow of the sun starts to come up behind the storm clouds that are rolling in, and everything feels absolutely at peace.

It may seem silly to some, but have you ever gotten out of the shower after a very long, hard day, and curled up under warm, crisp, clean sheets, with a dozen pillows around you? To me it is like falling asleep on a cloud, or I should say it is like being hugged by a cloud, maybe it isn't for everyone, but sleeping on clean sheets with a lot of pillows is my own personal heaven on Earth. Something as small as this is such a pure beautiful comfort.

My home... A smile and a precious heartbeat, never did I think I could find someone who was made just for me, but I found a man who became my best friend, who I wanted to share every part of myself with, every smile, every flaw, everything that I am. The moment I heard his heartbeat, I heard what I never thought possible... The beat of his heart matched mine, perfectly in sync, and I knew that this was the man that I was meant to spend the rest of my life with. He has become my peace, my comfort, my home.

love poemsnature poetry
1

About the Creator

Mercedes Chavez

Come with me, lets go on an adventure together, see the world through my eyes, let me paint a picture with my words, I promise you will be able to feel what I felt the first time I experienced it. Love, sadness and everything in between.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.