Poets logo

Waiting to breathe

Our nation

By Gregory AndersonPublished 2 years ago 1 min read

Wake up and the headline reads

Another life was lost today

Some drunk driver going the wrong way

Hold my breath wipe my tears with my sleeve

I’m waiting to breathe

Some many stand up for what is wrong or right

Still there are so many tears through the night

What can you tell me what should we do

When so many come to separate me from you

Wipe more tears with my sleeve

I’m waiting to breathe

In the early years to our current time a poisoned mind still shares the same view black boy America is not for you.

The illusion of freedom seemingly has been freed.

Tell your children as they go out the door

If you are stopped always keep your hands in sight.

So many lives are shattered is the reason we fight

Hope waits upon the eve

I’m waiting to breathe

Children play with children

And it is all the same

It is what we teach the children

That causes the hate and pain

Stand up and let your voice be heard

The challenge we face goes beyond words

We pray together that the father hears our plea

The soul of our nation is waiting to Breathe

inspirational

About the Creator

Gregory Anderson

I am a writer and filmmaker director & author. Writing has always been a passion for me. I wrote and directed a play called “The Rosary” which traveled around for a few years. My book “Poetic steps in time and season” is available online

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Gregory AndersonWritten by Gregory Anderson

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.