Poets logo

Voices of Misery

RIP Robin Williams

By Anna TorresPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Voices of Misery
Photo by Cesira Alvarado on Unsplash

I smile through the pain and despair

I laugh through the gloom and musky air

They can't tell how fake every mask is

My ulterior persona in the limelight

My harlequin face under the marquee

They hear the voice of a monarch when I am really the lowly jester

I use laughter to hide my slow but inevitable decline

I am soaring high on a heavy depression

A valley descending into the void

I envy the oblivion where rest taunts me

To truly fly blind into the slumber of the dead

I'm a pilot on a collision course

I'm a bomb set for detonation

They can't see what's right in front of them

All they've witnessed is counterfeit majesty

A will of desertion

I am surrounded but completely isolated

The spotlight doesn't make you happy

Nothing I've done makes me want to carry on

I just want to close my eyes and dream

Dream of a world where I am content with myself

These blessings aren't enough to keep me sustained

I am melancholy, I am anhedonia

I am a fraud and I can't help it

I need help but I'm worried it's too late

I can't keep living this lie anymore

celebritiessad poetrysurreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Anna Torres

I’m a 37-year old mother. I love reading, metal music, and writing. I have begun writing again since 2021

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.