Poets logo

Voices

A poem from a damaged mind

By Andrew C McDonaldPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
3
Voices
Photo by Jr Korpa on Unsplash

Am I safe within my own skin?

Locked here inside the same sheathe

Housing a mind so full of sin

I try to escape the voices, the dreams

But they follow me wherever I go

Threatening to rip me apart at the seams

I try to smile and nod at those who wave

As insidious whisperers insist I gouge out their eyes

Yes, Mommy, truly I try to behave

Take the matches, the can of gasoline

Lock the church doors, Ignite a conflagration

Then dance a gleeful merry row obscene

A little girl out on the street, hair so fine

Sweet rosy cheeks, a smile so innocent

Begs to be flayed, her warm glance a sure sign

NO! Don’t do it the second voice cries

The quieter voice, drowned neath the bedlam

Begs me no, but anymore it barely vies

I wake, shivering from night terrors, clammy with sweats

Wherein I gloried in mayhem, violence, death

Set the world afire and place your bets

Grabbing my head, I try to push them aside

Screaming, yelling, the voices to obscure

But within my own skin, nowhere to hide

Lips chapped, skin hot, feverish, manic

Why is there a butcher knife sitting there?

I see the blood, my brain in a panic

Last night I gave in, unable to resist

Her little corpse on the floor; so pale, so cold

Within the horrific glory I did subsist

I heeded at last the call, the insistent urge

She was walking home, alone, young, tender

Now she’s just meat on which dogs may splurge

Am I guilty? Is it my fault?

Or is it Dad’s, whose voice keeps whispering

From deep within my past’s once locked vault

I hear the bullhorns, police dogs baying

I pick up the blade, sharp, deadly, beautiful

As it enters my forearm, I hear mom praying

No one is safe when I’m in my own skin

So now I’ll exit, depart this hell in which I exist

Turns out my own shell is truly quite thin

surreal poetryCONTENT WARNING
3

About the Creator

Andrew C McDonald

Andrew McDonald is a 911 dispatcher of 30 yrs with a B.S. in Math (1985). He served as an Army officer 1985 to 1992, honorably exiting a captain.

https://www.amazon.com/Killing-Keys-Andrew-C-McDonald-ebook/dp/B07VM843XL?ref_=ast_author_dp

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson5 months ago

    Horrific and impressively written!!! Left a bloody heart!!!

  • Pass the butcher knife to me, I'll take care of the rest of them, lol. Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.