Poets logo

Visit Mum Day

Knots in my Stomach

By Rebecca DalmasoPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Visit Mum Day

Knots in my stomach

I hate feeling this way

I thicken my skin

It's visit mum day

I walk down the hall

it feels it has no end

Take a deep breath

as I approach the bend

I walk in the room

wishing for a warm embrace

She glares with caution

at the strangers face

I place the flowers down

draw the curtains back

She looks at me like

I am about to attack

She starts screaming loudly

she says it's not true

I do have a daughter

It is not you

Who are you really?

why are you here?

It breaks my heart

her undeniable fear

I walk out the room

try to catch my breath

I wonder if a life lived

and forgotten is worse than death

Maybe I shouldn't have come

because now she's upset

I remind myself

she can't choose who to forget

As I exit the car park

my tyres spin on the gravel

I swear I can feel my heart

start to unravel

This torture in a way

I do to myself

I could never put her

on the too hard shelf.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Rebecca Dalmaso

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.