Poets logo

The Bitter End

Transparent

By Rebecca DalmasoPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

The Bitter End

If I was transparent

the world could see

The little girl

and the lion in me

Sometimes i wonder

can god tell us apart?

Does he see the anger

that blankets my heart?

The light in me

slowly faded

The price you pay

when all love is jaded

I am not at fault

my hands are clean

Yet damage surrounds me

more is forseen

Crumbling under the weight

of this head

Starting to think

my angels are dead

The footprints of others

all over my skin

My love not returned

tossed in the bin

Boiling point

I don't even care

I now look at life

with a cold hard stare

Blood of my blood

denying the shame

Nobody's child

A borrowed name

The edge creeping closer

with every breath

Is it truth that sets you free

is it really death?

Buried inside this version of me

Loosing my grip on reality

Close to explosion

I am about to blow

The rage inside leaking

A constant flow

If I could just hold on

until I go insane

Set my mind free

make a stranger of pain

I don't think I can

contain this blast

Send my soul salvation

blank out the past

So sick and tired

this ageing struggle

When i close my eyes

I see the piles of rubble

I fight back, get up

try and try some more

It's always the same

I land face on the floor

When you scream out

as I have done

Take a good look

what I have become

As you beg for mercy

A desperate face

Watch me walk away

you drown in disgrace

It won't be long now

until the bitter end

The moment has passed

to slow my descend

Why could nobody see

what I was worth?

Faintly beating heart

abandoned at birth

Now justice is just

an empty word

I could have been saved

if my cries had been heard.

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Rebecca Dalmaso

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.